17 For Change

What’s This About?

This site was created as a tribute to the 17 innocent victims gunned down at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School on February 14, 2018, and to organize members of our community and other Americans who are tired of gun violence. It has become apparent that our elected officials have failed to enact the laws needed to provide safety to the American people.

We are not attacking the right to purchase guns. We are seeking sensible gun laws to protect our citizens.


Our Objectives

We seek numerous reforms to gun ownership laws including raising the minimum age to purchase assault weapons, mandatory background checks, mandatory waiting periods, and gun violence restraining orders.

The purpose of this website is threefold:

  1. To promote sensible changes to the laws regarding assault weapons.
  2. To identify elected officials who oppose changing the law. If elected officials refuse to enact laws to protect the public, then those elected officials need to be replaced.
  3. Identify elected officials who receive money from the NRA.

If us students have learned anything, it’s that if you don’t study, you will fail. And in this case, if you actively do nothing, people continually end up dead, so it’s time to do something.
Emma Gonzalez, student at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Did You Know?

Since the mass murder at Columbine High School in 1999, we have seen killings at:

• Red Lake Indian Reservation, 2005
• West Nickel Mines Amish School, 2006
• Virginia Tech, 2007
• Northern Illinois University, 2008
• Sandy Hook Elementary, 2012
• Oikos University, 2012
• Santa Monica College, 2013
• Marysville Pilchuck High School, 2014
• Umpqua Community College, 2015
• Rancho Tahama Elementary, 2017
• Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, 2018
• Central Michigan University, 2018.

The list of school shootings above does not even address those that occurred at other locales, like the 2016 mass murder at Pulse night club in Orlando, or the 2017 killings at the Ft. Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport.


According to TheHill.com, the following elected officials
were the biggest beneficiary of the NRA cash in the 2016 election:

Donald Trump — $31,194,646
Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.) — $6,297,551
Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) — $3,298,405
Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) — $3,105,294
Sen. Todd Young (R-Ind.) — $2,888,132
Former Rep. Joe Heck (R-Nev.) — $2,529,305
Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio)— $2,319,755
Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.)—$650,745
Rep. Lloyd Smucker (R-Pa.)—$215,786
Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)—$167,411